EU orders travel ban on 7 African countries to halt spread of new Covid variant

EU officials holding an emergency meeting over a threatening new Covid variant first detected in southern Africa agreed on Friday to urge all 27 nations in the bloc to impose travel restrictions from that region.

“Member States agreed to introduce rapidly restrictions on all travel into the EU from 7 countries in the Southern Africa region: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe,” European Commission spokesman Eric Mamer tweeted.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.