Akwa United Clinch First Ever NPFL with a match a go

Akwa United of Uyo of Uyo have been crowned the champions of the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) on Sunday with a 5-2 defeat of Mountain of Fire Ministry FC.

Akwa United are now top of the league with 71 points ahead of second-place Nassarawa United (62) and would be winning their first NPFL title in their 25 years of existence with a game to spare.

They won on Sunday with a flourish, with Charles Atshimene grabbing a hat-trick in the 24th and 85th minutes, and the second minute of final added time.

Alimi Adebayo’s own goal in the second minute of first-half added time, and Mfon Udoh’s 62nd-minute goals added to their goals haul.

The 2013 Federation Cup and 2018 Aiteo Cup winners however conceded twice during the game, from Michael Mbonu’s 68th-minute penalty kick and Dennis Obasi’s 89th-minute goal.

They have so far won 19 matches, drawn 14, and lost four while scoring 52 goals and conceding 22 for a goals difference of +30 to stay miles away from their rivals.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.